Online Licenses Service  |   +(406) 444-2950  |   E-mail

 

Things you should know before purchasing a license online.

Print this page

  1. You are responsible for printing and carrying your licenses, permits, and carcass tags at all times when hunting, fishing or recreating on state lands.  FWP suggests placing the carcass tag in a plastic bag before attaching to the animal carcass.

    If you applied for a drawing during your online session, an application receipt will be attached.  The application receipt contains species, hunting districts, bonus/preference point information, and party number (if applicable), from your online application.  You can log on to MyFWP at fwp.mt.gov/myfwp/ to view your application status.

    IMPORTANT NOTICE:
    Licenses, permits and carcass tags are printed on 8½" x 11" regular white paper.  An email will be sent to you at the conclusion of your transaction that will include your non carcass licenses to print from your home printer.  If you purchased a license that includes a carcass tag, you have the option to print them from home (a link will be included in the email) or have FWP print and mail them to you.  If you select to print from home, and do not print within 5 days of purchase, FWP will automatically print and send the tags by mail.  You will select your option further into the transaction.

    If you purchased:

    • Nonresident Snowmobile Permit
    • Nonresident Off-Highway Vehicle Permit
    • Resident Off-Highway Vehicle Permit
    • Nonresident Parks Pass
    • Nonresident Trail Permit; or
    • Resident Trail Permit

    Purchases requiring a decal will be mailed to you within 10 days of purchase.

  2. Montana Fish Wildlife & Parks will check your information against the Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact and FWP's forfeiture database.  This database contains information of individuals who have violated hunting and fishing laws in Montana and other states that are members of this compact, and have had their hunting and/or fishing privileges suspended or forfeited.  IT IS A MISDEMEANOR TO APPLY FOR LICENSES WHILE PRIVILEGES ARE SUSPENDED OR FORFEITED, AND WILL RESULT IN ADDITIONAL FINES AND PENALTIES.  For additional information, contact the Montana Wildlife Violator Compact Administrator at 406-444-2452.


  3. Before you can purchase a license on-line, you must meet and be aware of certain criteria:

    RESIDENTS:

    • To purchase any other resident licenses online, you must have a valid Montana driver's license number or photo ID card issued by the Dept. of Justice.  Your driver's license information will be verified against the Dept. of Justice driver database.
    • A resident minor may use their parent's Montana drivers license number or photo ID to purchase a resident license.

    RESIDENTS / NONRESIDENTS:

    • If you were born after January 1, 1985, you are required to show proof of completing a Montana hunter safety and education course or an approved hunter safety course from any other state or province prior to applying for or purchasing a hunting license, whether the hunting license is for the rifle or archery season.
    • All first time bow and arrow license purchasers must enter their bowhunter education certificate number (NBEF) or a previous years archery license number from any state or province.
    • Licenses, permits and carcass tags are printed on 8½" x 11" regular white paper.  An email will be sent to you at the conclusion of your transaction that will include your non carcass licenses to print from your home printer.   If you purchased a license that includes a carcass tag, you have the option to print them from home (a link will be included in the email) or have FWP print and mail them to you.   If you select to print from home, and do not print within 5 days of purchase, FWP will automatically print and send the tags by mail.  You will select your option further into the transaction.  Purchases requiring a decal will be mailed to you within 10 days of purchase or successfully drawing the license.
    • If you need to purchase licenses for yourself and immediate family member(s), you must do so in separate transactions and provide the appropriate identification required for each individual.
    • If you intend to purchase a black bear license for the first time, you need to have passed the FWP Bear Identification test.
    • Resident/Nonresidents who do not have an ALS number established and are purchasing a conservation license for the first time must be prepared to provide the last 4 digits of their social security number per Montana Code Annotated to comply with the Federal Welfare Reform Law.

Print this page